The Best Books I’ve Had to Read for School

In school I loved English, it was a great chance to pick up some books you might never have actually read. Although there were some misses, most of them were actually really great! Here are 5 of my favourites… not including Shakespeare which I always loved. Maybe that’ll be another post, favourite Shakespeare plays.

1. Catcher in the Rye J. D. Salinger

catcher-in-the-rye-red-cover

I feel as if this book was made for high school students, in a time when you’re struggling to figure everything out this book speaks to you on another level. Most of my classmates had the same reaction.

2. The Great Gatsby F. Scott Fitzgerald

thegreatgatsby_1925jacket

Such a fun story- I love the romance, the over the top drama and the narration. I actually have read this book 3 times! It’s a true classic about the American Dream and I’m very glad I read it.

3. The Educated Imagination Northrop Frye

41kvcfitkhl-_sx309_bo1204203200_

This is a collection of lectures by Northrop Frye who is a literary critic and theorist. His concepts and ideas, although somewhat difficult to grasp, are incredible. I read it quite a few years ago but I remember being in awe and constantly having “mind blown” moments. Super impressive. Not to mention he’s a Canadian and he lived in Toronto (represent!)

4. The Shallows Nicholas Carr

theshallows_custom-73f8e454afba4887699ada8dea5035bf81094528-s300-c85

The only book I’ve read in university to make this list (so far!). Carr writes science non-fiction in a way that is easy to understand and interesting to read because it’s very much relatable to our lives.

5. To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee

to_kill_a_mockingbird

I think everyone has had to read this book for school at some point, am I right? This book has also made an appearance in my 4 Favourite Books List which you can read all about here. I think that this is such a special story.

What are the best books you’ve had to read for class? Anything that surprised you?

Until next time, Emily

 

Leave a Reply

