The Happiness Project: Reading Questions

I loved reading The Happiness Project! I just posted a review on Sunday that you can read here. At the end of the book there are questions for a reading group, I thought about going over a couple to discuss them. Here are my thoughts, I’d love for you to leave yours in the comments even if you haven’t read the book!

Spoiler Alert: The discussion questions may reveal some of the concepts that appear in the book

Gretchen observes that outer order contributes to inner calm, many of her resolutions are aimed at clutter clearing. Do you agree that clutter affects your happiness?

100% YES! I totally follow the saying “cluttered house, cluttered mind.” It’s something I always try to remember, I just feel so much better once my space is clean and organized. Although I notice the benefits- I often find my room cluttered and messy. Recently I’ve been reading a book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo and her method is great, I’ve thrown away/ given away so much clutter that used to lie on my floor or I used to just store.

Gretchen argues throughout The Happiness Project that striving to be happy is a worthy, not selfish, goal. Do you agree? Do you think that Gretchen was right to devote so much time and attention to her own happiness? Why or why not? 

First off, I don’t think it’s my place to judge if Gretchen’s project was right or wrong. But I do think that it’s worth investing time in your own happiness. I think that especially working on your own happiness when everything is going right is excellent practice. I also believe that being a happier person translates to other people and brings up the mood of those around you. I’m in the opinion that trying to be a happier version of yourself is not selfish because it can change the outlook on your life.

What do you think? Leave a comment!
Until next time, Emily

Leave a Reply

