My Favourite Children’s Christmas Stories

1. The Polar ExpressChris Van Allsburg

1986_polar_express

Reading this story when I was little I hung onto every word, even now reading this story will story will bring out the Christmas spirit in me no matter what time of year it is!

2. Yes Virginia! There is a Santa Claus

xexhibits_online_yesvirginia_feature-pagespeed-ic-viu814wjin

An editorial written in the New York Sun in the late 1800’s in response to a young girls question: “Please tell me the truth, is there a Santa Claus?” I encourage you all to read this absolutely beautiful piece. Maybe because I’ve read this since I was young it has a special place in my heart but I think it might speak to you too. I’d love to know your thoughts.

3. The Little House on the Prairie Christmas Treasury

51-zblm1hql-_sy344_bo1204203200_

There is something so special about a pioneer Christmas. Maybe it’s a combination of the heavy snowfall, the family visits and the simplicity of the Christmas gathering. I like to read this one every year.

4. The Nutcracker

There are so many great adaptations to this whimsical story. The ballet is wonderful and the Barbie version was quite a great movie back in my childhood days. I even once saw an “All-Canadian ” version- rats replaced with raccoons etc. What an experience! They story line is simple but beautiful.

Leave a Reply

